Mindfulness

cropped-fb949282593ba2c727e138473547ebde.jpg

For a while now I have been practising meditation and mindfulness in my every day life and I am experiencing so many benefits that I just had to share about it on here!

So what exactly is mindfulness?
Mindfulness is all about training your brain to pay attention in a specific way. It is about being present in the here and now. About dismissing thoughts of the past, or worries about the future. It is all about being non-judgemental and gentle with yourself. It is a practise, something that you get better at over time, and much like exercise it can take a while before noticing any differences.
43963d349eb7a146a8444b9e531ec368
It can help to clear your head, allowing you to be more aware of yourself, your body, your emotions, the environment. It helps you to relax, deal with stress and anxiety, and it even slows down your nervous system!

“Mindfulness is the basic human ability to be fully present, aware of where we are and what we are doing, and not overly reactive and overwhelmed by what is going on around us.”

I started my mindfulness journey off by using the app ‘Calm’ which gives guided mediation for just 10-15 minutes daily. Guided meditation was helpful for me as I really had no idea of what I was doing or where to start off, and it just talks you through it and gives you good techniques that you can use. The app also has meditations for specific topics such as anxiety, travel, deep sleep, and so much more.

When I started practising mindfulness, I found myself getting frustrated often as my mind continuously wandered and I constantly had to bring it back to the breath, but the more I practise the less my mind wanders. It has also taught me kindness and patience to myself, to not judge my practise, but rather to observe it and always return to the inhale and the exhale.

I have a long way to go, but that is the excitement of the journey – it is ever changing and growing, and you will find that you learn a lot about yourself during your practise.
yoga-pose-watercolor-bright-floral-illustration-over-white-background-lotus-46683010
So I really encourage anyone and everyone to give mindfulness a try! There are so many benefits to be gained, and so much peace and calm just waiting for you to discover.

With love,
Shannon. Xx. cropped-fb949282593ba2c727e138473547ebde.jpg

Leave a Reply

