Why I Went Veggo!

The first question I get asked when I tell people that I am vegetarian transitioning to vegan is ‘why?’

To which I usually respond with ‘do you want the short answer, or the long answer?’
images-15
The long answer is a difficult one to explain because you see, the meat and dairy industry is a complex and difficult one to understand. There is a lot of politics involved, which I didn’t expect at all.

The main reason that I have committed to a vegetarian (and transitioning to vegan) diet is for the animals. Anyone who knows me knows that I am an animal lover and have been since I was a little girl. I can’t stand the idea of animals being harmed. I once hit a mouse with my car and cried like a baby, true story. But seriously, I just cannot stand the thought of animals being tortured and exploited. So why was I a meat eater for almost 21 years of my life? Because it is so easy to be oblivious to what is going on around us. I didn’t associate a steak with a cow, or a lamb shank being from a baby sheep – I just didn’t have that connection, and didn’t let myself have that connection, because it’s an awful thought to have when sitting down to sunday lunch with the family. However, this connection was made for me earlier this year when I decided to watch the documentary ‘Earthlings’, be warned, it is horrific. I shed many tears when watching this and felt sick to my stomach throughout most of it, but I forced myself to continue watching because I knew that I couldn’t turn a blind eye any longer. Animals are tortured and slaughtered for human consumption and that is fact. No hiding or pretending it isn’t real. This was a hard truth for me to come to terms with, as it meant that something had to change about the way that I was living.

cropped-fb949282593ba2c727e138473547ebde.jpg

From that day on, I stopped eating meat. Becoming vegetarian was actually a whole lot easier than I ever expected. I honestly expected it to be incredibly difficult as I used to eat meat at almost every meal of the day, but it had been pretty simple, and so rewarding. It is so exciting to see so many new vegetarian alternatives out there, and so many new things to try. I have found myself eating a lot more veggies and healthy foods, and I have found a substitute for just about every favourite meal of mine including pizza, schnitzel parmy, and mac and cheese.

SONY DSC

“But what about iron?”

Did you know that spinach contains more iron per 100 grams than beef? There are so many ways to get your iron intake, you just need to educate yourself and be creative!

So if you are looking at starting a vegetarian or vegan diet then I really encourage you to do your research! It’s so important that you ensure you are eating enough. If you are interested in watching documentaries a few that you can watch are Earthlings, Forks over knives, and Cowspiracy (I believe the last two are now on netflix, otherwise they are available on YouTube too).

If you have any questions feel absolutely free to send me a message! I am more than happy to do my best at answering them 🙂

tumblr_ntgp3fIKLQ1qlq4bgo1_500

Peace, love, and light,
Shannon. Xx.

Leave a Reply

